BATTLEGROUND

Airsoft in the YubaCity / Marysville area.

As I'm sure all of you have heard, Gov. Moonbeam signed SB199 into law. Like past attempts, the law had a noble, but dangerously flawed rationale behind it. Though, unlike past attempts, SB199 is fairly mild as enacted.

Last night, I opened the discussion on Butte County's Facebook page about the text of the law and how it will effect us. The entire text can be found here: leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB199

Here's a couple things I've come to realize doing some research on how laws effect us. I'm not a lawyer, so if anyone has real legal information together support or correct these things, please share. Also, I recognize that the letter of the law and reality are two different things so assumptions based on what "might" happen should be kept out; let's keep this legal and not political until 2016.

1. This law, by using the word Repeal creates what is called an ex post facto effect. What that means is that the law effectively makes things we did "yesterday" a crime. It's an attempt to eliminate grandfathering.

2. Ex post facto laws are Constitutionally illegal per the US Constitution, Article 1, Section 9, clause 3. This means that if we play a game 31DEC15, we cannot be arrested 1JAN16, when the law takes effect, for it. This also means that we can't be punished for our guns not complying with the new law because they were legal when purchased.